badge image


badge image

Kia ora/ Welcome

New Zealand's Oldest Rugby Football Club

Founded in 1868. Rugby began in 1870 with the first game ever played between Nelson and Nelson College at the Botanical Reserve in Nelson City.

We are extremely proud of our history and heritage and are committed to promoting the development of rugby for all people throughout the Nelson and Tasman region of New Zealand and beyond.The aim of the website is to update club activities and provide a historical digital repository for future generations of the club to access.

Covid-19 Management

The club has adopted the MOH guidelines and will be following all advice issued by the MOH / NZ Government.


In celebration of the club's 150th anniversary Barbara Hodgson has been interviewing some of the club identities to capture their memories and create a living history of the club. You can watch all the interviews on our channel.


Club News


2022 Prize giving recipients:  

Division 1 

Gargiulo Trophy Sportsman of the Year: Connor Higgins

Mourie Pugh Tackling Cup: Connor Higgins

Under 21 Player of the year: Cooper Grant

Most Improved Player: Neo Milligan-Richard & Ramese Taualofa

3,2,1 Player of the day: Connor Higgins

Don & Myra Fowler Senior Sportsman of the Club: Mataroa Maui

Division 2

Sportsman of the Year: Jack Henderson  

Most Improved Player: Daniel Oldham 

Player of the year: Ben Stalker

3,2,1 Player of the day: Todd Peattie

Club Awards

Most Valuable Person: Brett Newcombe 

Tenant Trophy - Administrator of the year: Kent Ingles

Presidents Cup (selected by Club President): Sam Burling

Goodman Cup: Barbara Hodgson

More images »

Junior prize giving

It was fantastic to be able to celebrate a season of Junior rugby at the clubrooms with all of the teams in attendance.  Congratulations to everyone who played for the club this year what a great season for you all.  A special thank you to one of our 3 current All Blacks (although injured at present) Ethan Blackadder who attended prize giving

Club Awards

McDonald's trophy for outstanding attitude: Ashton Harris-Russell

Female player of the year 'The Turnstone Cup: Liana Warland

Rochelle Walker Memorial Cup for contribution to the junior club: Dave Morris

Team Awards


Player of the year: Oliver de Garnham, Most Improved: Hugo Shuttleworth, Sportsperson: Jack Taylor


Player of the year: Jayden Cederman, Most Improved: Emanual Gomez, Sportsperson: Athol Stewart

U8 White

Player of the year: Edgar Houston, Most Improved: Barret Cocker, Sportsperson: Cory Trusler


Player of the year: Judah Jansen Van Rensberg, Most Improved: James Durry, Sportsperson: Jago Doherty


Player of the year: Barnaby Saunders, Most Improved: Cullen Harris, Sportsperson: Hahliyah Tupuola

U11 Blue

Player of the year: Sam Boyce, Most Improved: Tristan Hobbs & Archie McNeill, Sportsperson: Hunter Morrison

U11 White

Player of the year: Mason Kerdemelidis, Most Improved: Paddy Woon, Sportsperson: Kobe Madden


Player of the year: Quin McDonald, Most Improved: Jakob Irwin, Sportsperson: Oliver King


Player of the year: Kian Mellor, Most Improved: Mac Frankish, Sportsperson: Lochy Morris


Coming up


Interested in being a member?

Senior Players

Senior Club Captain

James Fairbrass - 021 132 2049


Div 1: Gary Stevens - 021 222 8410

Div 2: Daniel McDonald - 027 859 7091

2023 Senior Registration Link

Junior Players

Junior Club Captain

Lisa Trusler - 027 539 4215

2023 Junior Registration Link

Non-playing membership

See our Membership page for more information.

Contact us